Tuesday, 4 February 2014

Road to Austin featuring Eric Johnson premieres at SXSW 2014

Road To Austin, a feature length documentary by Gary Fortin featuring Kris Kristofferson, Stephen Bruton, Eric Johnson, John Paul DeJoria, Bonnie Raitt, Delbert McClinton, Ian McLagan, Joe Ely, Ruthie Foster, Turk Pipkin and many more has been selected for a World Premiere at SXSW (South By Southwest) 2014. Road To Austin, chronicles how Austin, Texas became the Live Music Capital of the World, dating from 1835 to present day.

On May 19, 2007 an unprecedented event called the Road to Austin was unveiled to an audience of 20,000 people in Austin, Texas. Led by internationally acclaimed musical director, and Grammy award winning producer, Stephen Bruton. This event was designed to create and capture a heightened level of excitement towards understanding how and why Austin, Texas came to be known as the live music capital of the world. The vision was to create a unique live musical showcase of 50+ local and world-renowned artists that are deeply rooted in the Austin music scene legacy and capture every moment of it in 5.1 surround sound and multi-camera footage.

This film also features interview segments with the performers at the event and the Musical Director of the concert (Stephen Bruton) who soon after the event lost his battle to cancer. This film is a 75-minute adaptation featuring a documentary and an 8-song excerpt from the 3-hour concert.

The Road To Austin is scheduled for world premier in spring of 2014 in its entirety. The release will include the documentary, interviews with pundits and performers, and the full thirty-eight-song celebrity driven concert. Kris Kristofferson along with John Paul DeJoria dedicate this film to Stephen Bruton and both serve as the voices in establishing the Artist Wellness Program in his name. This initiative will provide artists free of charge with advanced biomarker tests for the prevention and early detection of life threatening disease including, cancer, heart disease, and type-II diabetes.


Director: Gary Fortin

Executive Producer: Rob Donnelly, Gary Fortin

Producer: Gary Fortin, Ken Kushnick, Alison White

Screenwriter: Gary Fortin, Marshall Wriggin

Cinematographer: Vance Holmes

Editor: Molly McDermott

Production Designer: Adam Wooley

Sound Designer: Tom Davis

Music: Stephen Bruton

Additional Credits: Animation: Ryan Masten, Motion Graphics: Michael Martin, PA: Max Fortin, Lighting: BJ Lewallen, Grip: Henry Gonsalez

Principal Cast: Kris Kristofferson, John Paul DeJoria, Bonnie Raitt, Delbert McClinton, Stephen Bruton, Eric Johnson, Ian McLagan, Joe Ely, Ruthie Foster, Turk Pipkin

More info - www.rtafilm.com
IMDb - www.imdb.com/title/tt320145

No comments:

Post a Comment