Thursday, 17 April 2014

Provogue Records to release 'Eric Johnson - Live in Europe' CD

On June 24, 2014 Mascot Label Group’s Provogue Records will release 'Eric Johnson - Live in Europe' on CD and 180 gram vinyl. The in-concert collection’s 14 tracks draw from throughout Johnson’s career and include two new compositions: The mesmeric “Intro” that opens the set, and the rollicking rocker “Evinrude Fever”.

Europe Live was recorded in venues across Johnson's tour of the continent, with the majority of the album capturing his appearance at Amsterdam's Melkweg along with selections from two dates in Germany at Die Kantine in Köln and Bochum Zeche and the Paris show at New Morning. Each appearance featured a unique set list, offering Johnson the opportunity to cull this track listing from a wealth of repertoire captured.

The disc includes fresh performances of Eric's Grammy-winning instrumental “Cliffs of Dover” and Grammy-nominated track “Zap.” Other highlights include a stunning nine-and-a-half minute interpretation of John Coltrane’s “Mr. P.C.” and the 11-and-a-half-minute multimodal suite “Last House on the Block,” as well as performances of “Austin,” “40 Mile Town,” “A Song for Life,” “Fatdaddy,” “Zenland,” “Manhattan,” and “When the Sun Meets the Sky” (titled “Sun Reprise”).

Eric Johnson says - “Working on this live record was kind of an epiphany for me, because I realized that this is where it’s at — no matter where you’re playing, it should be a performance. The more I do that, the more I realize, Wow, there’s something special there. I’m enjoying playing more now because I am so committed to making sure that facet is really up front — one of the number-one things. And I’ve been doing it in the studio when people send me tracks to play on, and I say, ‘Okay, hit record, and let’s just do this all the way through.’ And I listen back and go, ‘Wow, that’s just more interesting and enjoyable to listen to.’”

Johnson will follow up Europe Live with an album recorded with friend and fellow guitarist Mike Stern. He is also composing and recording tracks for both a new electric album as well as his first acoustic guitar release.

1. Intro
2. Zenland
3. Austin
4. Forty Mile Town
5. Mr. P.C.
6. Manhattan
7. Zap
8. Song For Life
9. Fatdaddy
10. Last House On The Block
11. Interlude
12. Cliffs Of Dover
13. Evinrude Fever
14. Sun Reprise

1 comment: